Playful – Oh So Many Connotations

This post is in response to The Daily Post

soap-bubbles-801927_640Playful … such an interesting word. It can mean so many things and be used in so many ways.

A child is playful, puppies and kittens are playful. Lovers are playful in the bedroom, coworkers can be playful at work to ease the stress of the day, music can have a playful rhythm.

Playful has a dark side to.

“She was Playful with his heart,” “He was Playful with her emotions.”

As for myself, well, I haven’t been playful in a very long time, for to have a playful spirit there must be joy involved and joy is an alien emotion to me.

But I won’t take you down that yellow brick road today, let’s concentrate on the good and happy side of Playful.

My 6 year old son for instance, like almost every other 6 year old, whether boy or girl, is imbued with playfulness, it is at the core of their very being. They have so much of it, it exudes from them constantly, even sometimes when they’re asleep. I know this, because due to the small size of our house my son sleeps with me and I have witnessed it firsthand.

Many times I have, as I’m sure any person of my age or older, said, “Whew! I wish I had just a little bit of that energy (another word for playfulness).” It wears me out just watching lilman play, and summer vacation is almost upon us here in my little part of the world, which means hours and hours of Playfulness.

I’m not exactly sure what the person that came up with this suggestion of “Playful” was thinking or expecting, but that is what I think about when I hear the word Playful.

What do you think about when someone says Playful?

 

Sit A Spell And Lemme Know What Ya Think

