Political Correctness … uugh

imag0620

I read this post from a fellow blogger yesterday and parts of it just got under my skin. That’s her in the picture with her niece.

I am not a big believer in Political Correctness. Like I told Lana, it is just a way of sayin’ somethin’ in a way that doesn’t offend someone (because they are too sensitive to hear the truth).

If it’s black I call it black, if it’s white I call it white, that’s just the Hillbilly in me and I ain’t changin’ for anybody.

The part that got under my skin in Lana’s post was where she was talkin’ to a Realtor and he/she corrected her use of language in callin’ Mexicans .. well, Mexicans.

“While speaking to a Realtor, I made it clear I wanted to live in a racially diverse area. As I looked around outside of a house, I only saw flags from Spanish speaking countries (predominately Mexican). I asked the Realtor, “is this neighborhood predominately Mexican”  He sort of laughed and said, “We don’t say Mexicans, the correct term would be Hispanic or Latino.”

Now folks, that just got to me. Why are some people so sensitive to the truth? If you’re Mexican, Russian, American or whatever, damnit be proud of who and what you are and quit bein’ such a sissy about the way people talk.

It’s just this simple for me, if you don’t like the way I talk then just don’t listen. If I offend you by something I say then so be it. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t like offending people, I try to be a nice guy but I’m not changin’ the way I talk just to please someone that ain’t adult enough to hear it.

I’m AMERICAN and by god it don’t offend me to be called an American, or white, or especially hillbilly. I am what I am, like it or not. Take me or leave me, it’s the choice of the person to make that decision, not mine.

If you wanna be Politically Correct in your speech then so be it, more power to ya, I ain’t gonna stop talkin’ to ya because of it, I accept people for who they are, where they come from and what they believe. If you’re not the same as me, well that’s just the way things are and I don’t expect you to be.

I hope I haven’t offended anyone that reads this post, like I said, I try to be a nice guy, but there are just some things that I can’t and won’t tolerate. Don’t look at me and correct something I say with a Politically Correct response, you’re liable to get an ear full.

What’s your reaction to Political Correctness? I would love to hear from you.

Thanks for readin’.

Tim

If you would like to, you can follow me on facebook and twitter. I would appreciate it so much 🙂 
6 thoughts on “Political Correctness … uugh

  1. mewhoami

    I think people take it way overboard. We are what we are. I’m white. You don’t have to call me American. I’m just white. All of this political correctness being pushed around lately, is simply childish in my opinion.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Erwin

    I agree with you totally and if people would have sometimes the guts to say how it is the world could be a better place and we all could learn from it.

    Like

    Reply

Sit A Spell And Lemme Know What Ya Think

