Jelly VS Jam … This Hillbilly’s Conundrum

395774082_46b9f717c6I’m a true blue, tip to top, to the bone, full blooded, ain’t no changin’ me hillbilly. Most of you already know this fact if you’ve followed me for very long.

However, with that being said, I have an embarrassing confession to make. Until about 2 months ago, I had no idea what the difference was between Jam and Jelly. Now, keep in mind that I grew up watching and helping my mom can everything from corn to kraut, jelly AND jam, but for some unknown reason I never paid enough attention to know the difference between the two.

A couple of months ago, I was in the grocery store and as I passed by the jelly section I decided I wanted some strawberry jelly. After copious amounts of looking and growing frustration, I finally had to come to the conclusion that strawberry jam was all they had.

As I stood there, it occurred to me that I didn’t know what the difference was and wondered if I would like the jam. Now keep in mind that mom had made both in the past but I couldn’t, and still can’t, remember eating any of it, except for her Peach Jelly, which is awesome by the way.

So I got the strawberry jam and didn’t think too much more about it until a few days later when I felt like a peanut butter and jelly (or jam) sandwich was in order. When I opened the jar of jam there was one very obvious difference, the texture, which reminded me of my conundrum of a few days prior.

Instead of me going to Google and asking what I thought was a fairly stupid question for a hillbilly of my caliber, I asked someone else. The forthcoming answer was so simple that it was one of those slap your forehead moments and tell yourself, “You SHOULD have known that!”

For those of you that were like me and don’t know the difference, I’m gonna save you the embarrassment of asking someone yourself, especially if you’re a hillbilly.

The difference between Jelly and Jam …. Jelly is made with the JUICE of the fruit whereas Jam is made with the FRUIT itself. Now how utterly simple is that? Which fully explains the texture issue I was confronted with upon opening the jar.

So there you have it folks. The difference between Jelly and Jam.

You’re quite welcome!

4 thoughts on “Jelly VS Jam … This Hillbilly’s Conundrum

Sit A Spell And Lemme Know What Ya Think

