Example Of Combining .Com and Self-Hosted WordPress Sites

Hey there everybody, I just wanted to do a follow-up post to my A Blending Of Self-Hosted and .Com For WordPress post.

I have been working on a new Recipe Blog for the last couple of days and it’s coming along well. I won’t lie to ya, it’s been quite a bit of work but I think it’s worth it, and for once in a long time, I have actually had fun.

If you would like to see how blending a .com site with a shelf-hosted site works, here is the blog. Fat Boy’s Recipes.

I have utilized the .com site for my main point of contact, it includes the main links for the recipes and it allows visitors to easily follow and comment, plus, the stats are all taken care of by it as well.

Everything else, all the recipes, contact and newsletter pages are on the self-hosted site. I have a rating system and I’m working on installing a plugin that will allow visitors to download recipes if they choose to.

There’s a lot of new stuff I’m going to add as I go along, but I don’t want to overwhelm the site either. I want to make it functional, not complicated.

If you decide you would like to try this method out, I will be more than happy to help you. I’m not a pro at self-hosting by any means, but I can definitely help get you set up and on your way.

 

Sit A Spell And Lemme Know What Ya Think

