The Disappearing Human Being

As most of you know, I’m a geek at heart. I love technology and the many things it can do for us, but I’m gettin’ a little bit worried.

I follow a lot of technology sites, keep up with the most recent updates of operating systems, gadgets, apps that appeal to me and some that don’t. As with everyone else in the world, there is tech out there that is completely meaningless to me but extremely important to someone, and if it’s important to someone then it deserves a quick glance at every now and again, if for nothing else just to keep up with it.

What is startin’ to worry me a little bit is the tech that we know nothin’ about yet or brand new gadgets and gizmos that supposedly make our lives better but also have the capability to make us, as individuals, disappear forever. Wait a minute, isn’t that the goal of any technology that’s ever been invented? To make our lives better? Easier? Our, dare I say, more fun and enjoyable?

We, as individuals, and as a population, are becoming, no, are more dependent on high end technology than ever before in our history, well, the history that we’re aware of, but that’s another post altogether. Our very lives depend on the most essential and basic tech like electricity. Think about this for a minute, without electricity, none of this wonderful technology we have and take for granted every day would be possible.

However, I digress.

We, in my humble opinion, are disappearing as human beings at an alarming rate. We have became so intertwined and integrated in electronics, the internet, and apps that it is almost like we are actually a “part of” the stuff instead of a separate entity.

I myself am a prime example of this theory.

Before the advent of the Personal Computer in the late 80’s, I was hardly ever indoors, except durin’ the winter when I couldn’t get out. Even after a few years of owning one I was still almost always outside doin’ something. Then came the death of my first wife and everything changed. From that point on till now, with a few years exception, I am always on the computer, I have my phone beside me and if I were lucky enough to own a tablet and a laptop, I’m quite sure they would be up and runnin’ as well.

So it goes with a vast majority of the civilized population of the world. We are very rarely seen without our cell phones, either in a holster, pocket, stuck to our ear or held up takin’ pictures of something or other. We hardly ever actually talk to each other any more, we do most of our communicating through text, email or one of the thousands of messaging apps like KIK, Twitter, Facebook, Skype, etc.

Kids now-a-days don’t go outside and play, they don’t have to make up their own games and after about 4 years old they rarely use their imagination. Everything they could possibly hope for in entertainment resides inside some sort of console, handheld or phone. Long summer days spent running and playing, havin’ arguments and gettin’ over it, laughin’ and smiles all around, bikes bein’ ridden until your legs couldn’t possibly pump the peddels one more time are of days gone by. Such is a pity.

We depend on our phones, computers and tablets to keep us on time, remind us of our appointments, stay in touch with friends and family and even know exactly where a friend or family member is at any given time. I read an article this morning that spoke well to this. “No longer do people have to stand around staring at nothing, waiting on someone to show up. Now all we have to do is pull an app up on our smartphone and we can see exactly where they are and how long it’s gonna take for them to arrive.” Used to be that if a friend told you they would be at a certain place at a certain time you could pretty  much depend on it.

Something else caught my eye some time back. I saw a meme that said something like, “I miss the old phones, stabbing the end call button hard isn’t nearly as satisfying as slamming down a receiver when you want to hang up on somebody.”

TV is another technology that is slowly being sent to the pages of the past. We no longer need one to watch our favorite shows, the news or just general entertainment. Now you can just whip out your smartphone or tablet or sit down at your computer and the world that was once confined to a box that sat on the floor or table and everyone gathered around in the evenings to relax after supper, is gone. Thanks to Netflix, Hulu and others we can watch and walk at the same time and we don’t have to be home to do so, it goes with us wherever we go.

Yeah, it seems to me that we are becoming more and more part of the machine and I fear that it won’t be too long before it will no longer be the machine’s serving us so much as it will be us serving the machines and the human race will disappear into circuits, bytes and RAM.

Thanks for readin’.

 

The Disappearing Human Being was originally published on The Hillbilly Blogger

5 thoughts on “The Disappearing Human Being

  1. aladywrites4u

    We typically have a houseful of kids on the weekends, yes they have tech stuff but they still interact and use it together. They also end up often out and about in the back yard for paint ball etc. It’s different but they’re still playing. I think kids will always find a way to be kids.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. aladywrites4u

        In our area the majority want to do both. They take their phones and games and laptops and tablets anddddd they go outside.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Tim Taylor Post author

        They do here too but my point was, it’s not like it was when I was growin’ up and didn’t have those things. We were more in tune with nature, our surroundings and people, outside of texting and such 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. aladywrites4u

        I suppose every generation of oldsters think that of the young. I remember my elders telling me that our generation with our “too many toys, books and music” had become lost to society and were “ruined with all the new technology we had, things like microwaves, dishwashers, and everyone having cars.

        My grandmother told me about her elders thinking electricity and indoor plumbing were horrible life altering things that ruined everyone’s life. Till the day she died she refused to use hot water from the water heater.

        I suppose it’s an age old struggle.

        Liked by 1 person

Sit A Spell And Lemme Know What Ya Think

