Casual Readers vs Interactive Readers

silentreader2This of course is an age old topic in the bloggin’ world, but I’ve never written on it and lately I’ve seen a big difference between the two, so I decided to post about it. It sorta goes along with a post OM did over at Harsh Reality. Yes, I knew it was there and yes, I had to hunt for it.

In one form or another, I have been blogging for about 8 years, give or take. My most successful blog ever was my recipe sharin’ blog. I don’t remember how many followers I had on it but it was the most active by far. I had comments, suggestions, questions and reblogs galore and I LOVED it! This blog is next in line as far as successful goes, or the original one on WordPress.com is, I’m still havin’ difficulty with this self hosted version.

What I meant by seein’ a big difference lately is, I actually looked at the stats for this and the older version the other day. They both, especially the older one, gets a decent amount of views, however, a large percentage of those views are silent readers. Basically, they read and move along, no interaction what-so-ever, they don’t even hit the like button. Hmmm, maybe they don’t like what they’re readin’, never actually thought about it that way before.

Do I think of myself as one of those bloggers that “write for myself”? I used to, a long time ago, back when I first started. What I didn’t know or understand at the time is that blogging, real blogging, is about community.

A blog (a truncation of the expression weblog) is a discussion or informational site …….. A majority are interactive, allowing visitors to leave comments and even message each other via GUI widgets on the blogs, and it is this interactivity that distinguishes them from other static websites. In that sense, blogging can be seen as a form of social networking service. Indeed, bloggers do not only produce content to post on their blogs, but also build social relations with their readers and other bloggers.” Wikipedia.

It was when I realized this that everything about bloggin’ changed for me. No longer am I a strictly silent reader. I interact, I post comments, I answer every comment on my blog (or try to) and I participate in “Share Your Blog” events where a lot of popular bloggers with lots and lots of followers will allow you to post a link to your blog, for free. Harsh Reality is one such blog, and the really awesome thing about his blog and other ones like it, is they are ACTIVE blogs with a lot of interaction.

So far, most of my efforts haven’t paid off really well. Don’t get me wrong, I am very grateful for the followers I have and enjoy each and every one, but I want to make The Hillbilly Blogger a huge success, not for money, although that would be nice, but for the community aspect of it. I just have to find the right formula, and I will.

So I guess my advice to those of you that are readin’ this, don’t be a silent reader, get involved, be active. I can guarantee that the blog owners will truly appreciate it. I know I do :)

Thanks for readin’.

 

Casual Readers vs Interactive Readers was originally published on The Hillbilly Blogger

8 thoughts on “Casual Readers vs Interactive Readers

  1. seefleckrun

    I agree with you – I try my best to read everyone who I follow (but sometimes I just can’t keep up – life outside of the Internet and all ;)) and to comment and interact with them. I figure, if I’ve put work into what I write, so have they. Sometimes, if I don’t have anything to add to the conversation, I’ll give just a like, but I try to let people know that I’ve read and appreciate what they’ve said. Give and take, you know? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. butchcountry67

    if you blog it, they will come lol , seriously though, I do like the simplicity of your blog and it loads fast on my devices, I am guilty of being a silent reader on a lot of blogs, usually it’s because about that time I have a brain fart and don’t know exactly what to say , I usually end up coming back later and leaving a comment or at the very least hitting that like button .

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. NotAPunkRocker

    I am back to reading, but not writing, for the time being. I love the interactions between me and my readers but also amongst the readers in the comments section. I have found plenty of other blogs that I have followed just based on those interactions. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. April

    I love when people comment on my blog but agree that majority are silent readers. I try to at least like every post I read if I am unable to comment. That way the write knows I was there and appreciate their work πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Sit A Spell And Lemme Know What Ya Think

