Self Hosted Or .Com?

I am seriously considering taking this blog and self hosting it. The only problem, I can’t figure out how to take all of you with me if I do. I am sure there are some of you that would follow the self hosted site but there are others that just don’t want to deal with the hassle of it all and I Do Not want to lose any of my followers, you all are too good to me.

Why would I want a self hosted blog? Well, mainly I would have so many more options as far as the actual blog itself goes. On here, the .com site, I am limited in what I can do. With a self hosted site I can do pretty much anything I want to with the blog. Here I can’t add plug ins. Plug ins gives you a whole lotta freedom when it comes to offering a blog just the way you want it. Bigger variety of Themes. Yeah, .com has a lot of themes to choose from but again, you’re restricted with what you can do with them unless you wanna pony up $50.00 to open the customization up. Self hosted I can change the CSS properties to make the blog look however I want it. Most of the new themes are built on the Twitter Bootstrap platform, which is way awesome. (I’m learning Bootstrap now.)

I don’t know. Do I? Don’t I? How many followers will I lose in the process? This is a tough one y’all.

Thanks for readin’.

4 thoughts on “Self Hosted Or .Com?

  1. NotAPunkRocker

    I lost almost all my followers when I went self hosted,plus the spamfilter wasn’t as helpful. Much more with the junk comments and emails . I’ve since switched back (in Summer 2013) for different reasons, but unless something has changed it was an adjustment for sure. Of course, it also depends on which platform you use too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Tim Taylor Post author

      The spam filter is Akismit <–sp It's the same as here, or it's supposed to be and the themes I'm using are built on the bootstrap and html5 framework so there's no junk code.

      Like

      Reply

Sit A Spell And Lemme Know What Ya Think

