Oh Those Childhood Days

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2


 

The time period: Between 1970 and 1980.

The Place: My little home town

If I could go anywhere I wanted right now it would be back to my early childhood days. I have written on this somewhat before but as soon as I read today’s Blogging U assignment it immediately popped in my head what I wanted to write about.

I mainly wanna go back to the summers of those years, as I’ve said before, I do not like winter so i tend to block them out of my nostalgic memories.

Durin’ those times the days were long, the summer sweet. I had all my friends around and we would play from, almost sunup to way past sun down. We didn’t have a care in the world other than what we were gonna do next.

The woods were our friend, we stayed in them more than just about anywhere else. They are thick with our secrets to this day. We played everything you can imagine in them, from war to house. Oh yeah, there were girls in my circle of friends and they were just as rough and tumble as us guys, sometimes more so.

Another most favorite place for me when I was little was under an old garage that belonged to one of our neighbors. This thing sat on stilts and was the perfect place to build roads for our Matchbox cars. I’ve traveled many a mile on my knees under that old garage.

It was also during those years that I learned about the female anatomy and got my very first kiss. Believe it or not, I got my first kiss sittin’ in a cherry tree and I’m still friends with the girl I got it from too. The female anatomy lesson came from an old Playboy one of my friends had snatched off his dad and I have been hooked ever since, not on Playboy but on the female anatomy 🙂

Memories of those years are also filled with workin’ in our garden. We had a big garden and I was expected to work in it before I was allowed to go play. There was weeds to be pulled, rocks to be chucked, things that I could do, and those things got bigger and more work heavy as I got older. When it came time to gather in the garden I spent most of my days for a certain part of my summer pickin’ beans, corn, carrots, onions, etc.. The rest of the time was spent helpin’ to prepare the food for cannin’, which we did a lot of too.

I would always look forward to family commin’ in durin’ the summer too. I would sit around and just listen to all the stories bein’ told, the memories bein’ shared. We would play music out on the porch and there would be singin’ and happy times all around.

Of course there were the bad times too. We had our share of fights and arguments but we made up and moved on. Rarely were we mad at each other for more than a day, if that, but it was all part of growin’ up and bein’ a part of somethin’ special, even if we didn’t know it at the time,

Thanks for readin’.

Tim

If you would like to, you can follow me on facebook and twitter. I would appreciate it so much 🙂 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Oh Those Childhood Days

  1. Nicky

    That brought back some of the better memories of when I was growing up. (I was one of those rough and ready girls that ran with the boys.. through the woods, trees, ditches and streets) Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

Sit A Spell And Lemme Know What Ya Think

