Memories – New Or Old?

2013 September 11 - 11.03.01.804

You’re Hillbilly

New or Old .. that’s a good question. I have been strugglin’ with this question all morning, like I have been strugglin’ with this post all morning.

I’ve got good memories both old and new, it’s hard to decide which is better. The Daily Post has given me another conundrum today.

Good Old Memories brings back my childhood years, growing up with my friends, gettin’ into trouble together and generally just havin’ fun. We didn’t have any worries except when it was time to go in for the night, which was usually late and by late I mean 8 or 9 o’clock, that was late for us.

Good New Memories brings back my children being born, raisin’ them the best I know how, livin’, laughin’ and lovin’ are some more recent memories. But mixed in with those are bad memories that are achieved by bein’ an adult (which by the way, I don’t much care for). Like they say, ya gotta take the good with the bad or it’s gotta rain before you get a rainbow. Who are They anyway? I’d like to meet them someday, they seem pretty smart.

Anyway, I suppose I’m gonna go with the old memories that are covered in a sweet haze with this post, mainly ’cause from a previous post or two I have made it known that I would love to go back to those times, not have to be an adult and just run free and wild into the unknown, not really worrying about what tomorrow brings.

Thanks for readin’.

Tim

pad2014-s

If you would like to, you can follow me on facebook and twitter. I would appreciate it so much 🙂 
10 thoughts on “Memories – New Or Old?

  1. dragonflygypsyusa

    “But mixed in with those are bad memories that are achieved by bein’ an adult (which by the way, I don’t much care for)”….couldn’t have said it better myself 😉 we spend so much of our childhood wishing we were older, an adult, just to find out we had it made a children. If you figure out how to go back, PLEASE take me with you!!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Memory On The Menu | Understanding and Embracing Diversity

  3. mewhoami

    I enjoy old good memories too. For some reason they seem to bring me more comfort and joy. Perhaps that’s because they were all formed during the age of innocence.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Tim Taylor Post author

      I agree, the innocence gets lost along the way, but hey, who says we gotta grow up anyway? 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Memory on the Menu and the things that memories are made of | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: #2 – The sweet, glazed kind please! | The Hempstead Man

    1. Tim Taylor Post author

      Yeah, I have to live with too many recent bad memories. That’s why I like to dwell on my younger days 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Flash Fiction / Short Story – “Fiddling While Rome Burns To A Different Tune” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Sit A Spell And Lemme Know What Ya Think

